Housewife Does Proust

So it’s another long weekend here in Dominican Republic. I swear we have a long weekend atleast once a month. I am not complaining!  We stayed in the city this weekend because last Monday, I slipped and ended up banging my head and spraining my right arm. The doctor put me on rest for two weeks. TWO WEEKS! That means no yoga, no cooking, no driving, no chores, no anything for TWO weeks.

IMG_6522

What to do when you are going stir crazy at home? The Proust Questionnaire of course!

proust 3

My very favorite blogger, Ellie O’Connell, has ALS and is not doing well.  She is no longer able to write her incredibly funny, witty, oh-so-real, brutally honest, inspiring blog. (I highly recommend investing in a marathon read of her blog from the very beginning. It will make you laugh and cry so hard. I promise, she will end up being your best friend too.) Her last post was about the infamous  Proust Questionnaire and about how she will be posting a few of her fabulous friends’ answers. Her BFFs are the likes of Diandra Douglas and Yolanda Hadid.

ellie 3
Yolanda Hadid, my favourite housewife with Ellie O’Connell, my favorite blogger.

I love these types of confessionals. It provokes conversation with yourself. You either realize you are a shallow fool or all your neurosis show up. Don’t judge, I am not as eloquent as 13 year old Proust. Here we go:

What is your idea of perfect happiness? To have peace of mind across the board.

What is your greatest fear? To be a widow, losing my mother, no one to care for me when I can no longer care for myself.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? I invest too much in people.

What is the trait you most deplore in others? Narcissism.

Which living person do you most admire? Jamal Garcia Rubido and my mother. Both women have overcome adversity without ever failing to propel forward with laughter, smiles, selflessness, and pure optimism. Regardless of the pain in the depths of their soul, it’s always about their kids and their happiness.

What is your greatest extravagance? Purses.

What is your current state of mind? Happy, safe and optimistic.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?  Righteousness. It can easily morph into closed minded arrogance with a side of intolerance.

On what occasion do you lie? When the truth hurts.

What do you most dislike about your appearance? My nose.

Which living person do you most despise? I do not despise anyone, but I feel strong disregard for abusive personalities.

What is the quality you most like in a man? Intelligence with kindness.

What is the quality you most like in a woman? Intelligence with kindness.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse? “Do I look fat?” “F*ck”, “oh my God”, and the incredibly annoying “woohooo”.

What or who is the greatest love of your life? Without a shadow of a doubt, Juan Carlos.

When and where were you happiest? May 2014 at the beach. Summer, in my mom’s bed, watching marathons of Real Housewives with her.

Which talent would you most like to have? To be able to sing. I was told junior year in high school that I was tone deaf. It broke my heart.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? My anxiety. It has kept me from doing so many things.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? To have created a loving, happy, and peaceful home for me and my husband.  In addition, as superficial as this may sound, to have lost weight.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? Andy Cohen, Oprah or Cindy Crawford.

Where would you most like to live? Miami or Malibu.

What is your most treasured possession? My wedding rings and my Mime (pillow I have had since I was 2 years old).

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Finding yourself alone in this world.

What is your favorite occupation? Being a housewife.

What is your most marked characteristic?  I am talkative.

What do you most value in your friends? Loyal friends who reciprocate love and are present.

Who are your favorite writers? Jodi Picault, Emily Giffin, and Julia Alvarez.

Who is your hero of fiction? Noah from The Notebook.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?  Nelson Mandela.

Who are your heroes in real life? My parents and my husband. All three are constantly saving me.

What are your favorite names? Harry.

What is it that you most dislike? Mean people who make fun of others. Arrogance. People who take advantage of their position of power. Dirty homes.

What is your greatest regret? Not following through.

How would you like to die? In my sleep.

What is your motto? Be kind, for everyone is fighting a battle you know nothing about.

Play with me! Fill out the questionnaire and share below in the comment area!

Follow me on instagram @Jessicathehousewife.

4 thoughts on “Housewife Does Proust

    1. Anxiety can be such a crutch. I always think about how my life would have taken different paths had I not been so scared. My anxiety has closed me to many people, situations and opportunities. It’s a daily battle. Some days are better than others.

      Like

      1. I knooooow …. Always afraid to lost someone, not to be enough etc….😏

        Remember we have the same birthday. I totally understand. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

